(Elections NB graphic)

The list of candidates who have filed their nomination papers for the May municipal election in Saint John is growing. Nominations close on Friday at 2pm.

Four people have filed papers for the Mayor’s position – Howard Yeomans – Mel Vincent – Darrell Bastarache – and Donna Reardon as of close of business Thursday.

The two Councillor At Large seats have 5 people filing nomination papers so far – Arty Watson – Guy Verrna – Incumbent Gary Sullivan – Dean Secord – and Steven Henderson. The candidate in this category polling the highest number of votes will become Deputy Mayor.

In Ward 1 three people have filed nominations papers – Joanna Killen – Christopher Withers – and Incumbent Blake Armstrong. Ward 2 has attracted 7 candidates so far – Russell Wilson – Jocelyn Stevens – Barry Ogden – Deborah McCormack – and Incumbent John MacKenzie.

Ward 3 has 5 candidates filing papers so far – Peter Duncan – Barbara Ellemberg – Gerry Lowe – Adam Salesse – Incumbent David Hickey. Ward 4 has the greatest level of interest with 9 candidates filing to date – Lynaya Astephen – Daryl Bishop – Christopher Daigle – Gina Hooley – Kimberley Hughes – Daniel O’Conner – Paula Radwan – Greg Stewart – and Incumbent Ray Strowbridge.

Voting day is May 10th.